Skip navigation

Inside The Markup

The Markup Wins ONA Award in Technology Reporting

ONA judges said our ongoing internet disparities investigation is “a nearly perfect example of what modern tech journalism can be.”

Digital graphic of four screenshots of stories from the Still Loading series, layered on top of each other. To the right is the text "Still Loading." On top of it is the text "WINNER." On the bottom is the text "Excellence in Technology Reporting Small/Medium Newsroom" and the Online News Association Logo.
The Markup

The Markup’s investigative series on internet disparities, “Still Loading,” has won the Online News Association’s (ONA) Excellence in Technology Reporting award in the small and medium newsroom category. The award recognizes excellence in digital journalism focusing on coverage of technology, including pieces that address all aspects of technology, like culture, policy, and economic impact.

Judges described our investigative series as “a nearly perfect example of what modern tech journalism can be.” They also commented on the high utility of the series.

Our investigation found that four internet service providers—AT&T, Verizon, Earthlink, and CenturyLink—disproportionately offered lower-income, least-White, and historically redlined neighborhoods slow internet service for the same price as for speedy connections in other parts of town. The Markup was the first to show where inequitable effects of tier flattening (charging internet customers the same rate for differing levels of service) have occurred, and we published multiple resources that allow anyone to look into internet disparities in their own area. 

We’re honored that ONA recognized The Markup’s ongoing coverage of internet disparities in 2023 alongside our original investigative package, which was published in late 2022.

You can read our entire Still Loading series here. This award also recognized the following pieces:

Congratulations to the team for the recognition of their hard work: Leon Yin, Aaron Sankin, Joel Eastwood, Gabriel Hongsdusit, Jeremy Singer-Vine, Paroma Soni, Dan Phiffer, Maria Puertas, Jill Jaroff, Ko Bragg, and Evelyn Larrubia.

Congratulations, too, to all of this year’s ONA award winners.

We don't only investigate technology. We instigate change.

Your donations power our award-winning reporting and our tools. Together we can do more. Give now.

Donate Now